In the Non-GMO Project’s Product Verification Program, we use three categories of GMO risk: (1) High, (2) Monitored, and (3) Low.

High-risk crops:

These crops are currently in commercial production in genetically engineered form. Contamination risk is high, and ingredients derived from these crops must be tested every time before being used in Non-GMO Project Verified products.

  • Alfalfa (first planting 2011)
  • Canola (approx. 90% of U.S. crop)
  • Corn (approx. 88% of U.S. crop)
  • Cotton (approx. 90% of U.S. crop)
  • Papaya (most of Hawaiian crop)
  • Soy (approx. 94% of U.S. crop)
  • Sugar Beets (approx. 95% of U.S. crop)
  • Zucchini and Yellow Summer Squash (approx. 25,000 acres)

Animal products (milk, meat, eggs, honey, etc.) are also considered high-risk because of contamination in feed.

Monitored crops:

The monitored category is for crops where there are suspected or known instances of contamination from GMO relatives or other sources. We test these crops as needed to assess risk and move them to the “high-risk” category if we see significant risk of GMO contamination.

  1. Beta vulgaris (e.g., chard, table beets)
  2. Brassica napa (e.g., rutabaga, Siberian kale)
  3. Brassica rapa (e.g., bok choy, mizuna, Chinese cabbage, turnip, rapini, tatsoi)
  4. Curcubita (acorn squash, delicata squash, patty pan)
  5. Flax
  6. Rice
  7. Wheat
  8. Potato

Common ingredients derived from GMO risk crops:

Amino acids, aspartame, ascorbic acid, sodium ascorbate, vitamin C, citric acid, sodium citrate, ethanol, flavorings (“natural” and “artificial”), high-fructose corn syrup, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, lactic acid, maltodextrins, molasses, monosodium glutamate, sucrose, textured vegetable protein (TVP), xanthan gum, vitamins, yeast products.

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on FacebookEmail this to someone